PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM EXECUTIVE/FINANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES Thursday, July 18, 2024, Willmar Library Multipurpose room

Committee members present: John Winter, Bill Paterson, Eric Rudningen, Doug Erickson, and Mitch Kling.

Admin Staff on site: Laurie Ortega, Director. Guest: Cindy Hendrickx, Head librarian, Appleton. Absent: Brent Olson, Candice Jaenisch, Duane Anderson.

Meeting was called to order at 6:24 p.m. by Rudningen. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The agenda was approved on a motion by Kling, seconded by Winter. *Minutes of the May 16, 2024, Executive/Finance Committee* were approved at the June 20, 2024, Board meeting.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

A. Finance Committee:

- 1) The June 2024 Financial Report was approved on a motion by Paterson, seconded by Erickson.
- 2) Bills and Check Registers were approved on a motion by Kling, seconded by Winter.

B. Personnel Committee:

• **New Hires:** The following new hire was approved on a motion by Rudningen, seconded by Erickson: Cheyenne Wenske, Library Asst. II, Canby

OLD BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS: None

DIRECTOR'S UPDATE:

- **A. 2025 Funding Requests:** Funding request letters were sent to cities/counties before the July 4th holiday. Have been contacted by a couple of cities with questions and may receive some push back from a couple of counties on the 5% increase request.
- **B. MLA Annual Conference:** The annual conference of the MN Library Association is scheduled for October 24 & 25 at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester. They do offer rates for library Friends and Trustees if anyone is interested. Ortega will send a link to the conference website out to the board for anyone interested in checking it out. The October CRPLSA meeting is scheduled for earlier that week in Rochester as well. Ortega will be attending both so will be out of the office that week.

OTHER: Next board meeting scheduled for October 17, 2024 @ 7:00 p.m. (Finance @ 6:30) Executive/Finance Meetings: August 15 & September 19 @ 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 6:35 p.m. Recording Secretary – Laurie Ortega