# PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM EXECUTIVE/FINANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES Thursday, May16, 2024, Willmar Library Multipurpose room

Committee members present: Brent Olson, John Winter, Candice Jaenisch, Bill Paterson, Eric Rudningen, Doug Erickson, and Mitch Kling.

Admin Staff on site: Laurie Ortega, Director. Guest: Jake Fejedelem, Renville County head librarian. Absent: Duane Anderson.

Meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Olson. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

**The agenda** was approved on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Kling. *Minutes of the March 21, 2024, Executive/Finance Committee* were approved at the April 18, 2024, Board meeting.

### **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

## **Finance Committee:**

- **A.** The April 2023 Financial Report was approved on a motion by Paterson, seconded by Winter.
- **B.** Bills and Check Registers were approved on a motion by Rudningen, seconded by Winter.

## **Personnel Committee:**

• **New Hires:** The following new hire was approved on a motion by Jaenisch, seconded by Rudningen: Sara Skindelien, Library Asst. II, Spicer/New London.

### **OLD BUSINESS:** None

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

- **A. FY25 RLBSS Application:** Approval to sign and submit the FY25 RLBSS application was given on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Jaenisch.
- **B. FY25 ACHF (Legacy) Application:** Approval to sign and submit the FY25 ACHF application was given on a motion by Kling, seconded by Paterson.

## **DIRECTOR'S UPDATE:**

- **A.** There is no legislative update. Anticipate one following the end of the session on May  $20^{th}$ . As of today, the bonding bill has not been passed.
- **B.** The city of Dassel plans to apply for a library construction grant for their library project. Director has written a letter of support for the project on behalf of PLS to be included in the packet submitted to the state.

**OTHER:** Next board meeting is scheduled for June 20, 2024 @ 7:00 p.m. (Finance Committee @ 6:30) Executive/Finance Meetings: July 18, August 15 @ 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 6:15 p.m. Recording Secretary – Laurie Ortega