PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM EXECUTIVE/FINANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Thursday, March 21, 2024, Willmar Library Multipurpose Room

Committee members present: Brent Olson, Doug Erickson, Duane Anderson, Mitch Kling, John Winter and Bill Paterson. Absent: Eric Rudningen and Candice Jaenisch. Admin Staff: Laurie Ortega, Director. Guest: Andrew Bregar, Head Librarian, Willmar.

Meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Olson. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The agenda was approved on a motion by Kling, seconded by Anderson. **Minutes of February 15, 2024, Finance Committee** were approved on a motion by Winter, seconded by Anderson.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance Committee:

- **A.** The February 2024 Financial Report was approved on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Winter.
- **B.** Bills and Check Registers were approved on the same motion by Erickson, seconded by Winter.

Personnel Committee: New Hires - No new hires.

OLD BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS: None

DIRECTOR'S UPDATE:

- **A. Legislative Update:** There are a couple of bill proposals relating to libraries currently being debated: SF4545, regarding book banning in MN, and HF4373, an amendment to current language requiring Regional Library System Directors possess an MLIS degree. The amendment language is being driven by the MELSA region where they would like an exception to recruit director candidates outside of the MLIS requirement. There is opposition to this change from within the CRPLSA group and the MLA community. Discussions continue we will see how this all shakes out.
- **B. HL Vacancy update:** Ortega and Chair Olson interviewed three candidates for the open Big Stone County Librarian position. Ortega is currently reviewing references and anticipates an offer will be made early next week.
- **C.** The 2023 Annual Report has been submitted to the state. Ortega will send the DRAFT report out to the board as an FYI.

OTHER: Next board meeting is scheduled for April 18, 2024 @ 7:00 p.m. (Finance Committee @ 6:30)

Executive/Finance Meetings: May 16 @ 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 6:25 p.m. Recording Secretary – Laurie Ortega