### PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD MEETING

Thursday, January 20, 2022, 7:00 p.m. Willmar Public Library Multipurpose Room

The January 20, 2022 meeting of the Pioneerland Library System board was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Chair Olson. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

Admin Staff: Laurie Ortega, Director

Guest attending: Andrew Kelton, Benson/Kerkhoven head librarian

The agenda was approved on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Bjur.

**Minutes** of the October 20, 2021 Board meeting and the December 16, 2021 Executive/Finance Committee were approved on a motion by Fagnano and seconded by Jensen.

The following slate of officers for 2022 was proposed. A call for nominations from the floor was given. There were no nominations from the floor.

- 1. Board Chair: Brent Olson (Big Stone County)
- 2. Vice Chair: Ron Antony (Yellow Medicine County)
- 3. Secretary: Doug Erickson (Renville County)
- 4. Treasurer: Julie Asmus (City of Willmar)
- 5. Finance Chair: Dennis Ulrich (City of Renville)

The slate of officers was approved as proposed on a motion by Rudningen, seconded by Pauling.

The following slate of nominees to the finance committee was proposed. A call for nominations from the floor was given. There were no nominations from the floor.

The five (5) nominees to the Finance Committee in addition to board chair, finance chair, and treasurer were approved as proposed by a motion by Bredeson, seconded by Schmalz.

- 1. Eric Rudningen (Swift County)
- 2. Marlys Bjur (Meeker County)
- 3. Duane Anderson (Kandiyohi County)
- 4. John Winter (City of Glencoe)
- 5. Candice Jaenisch (Chippewa County)

One spot remains open on the Finance Committee. Interested parties should contact Director Ortega.

# **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

#### FINANCE COMMITTEE

- 1. **The December 2021 Financial Report** was approved on a motion by Schmalz, seconded by Tufto.
- 2. **Bills and check registers** were approved on a motion by Ulrich, seconded by Rudningen.
- 3. **The 2022 Final budget** was approved on a motion by Fagnano, seconded by Anderson.

### PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

 New Hires: The following new hires were approved on a motion by Bredeson, seconded by Anderson: Susan Schaeffer, Library Asst. II, Fairfax Maida Berg, Adult Services Librarian, Willmar

**OLD BUSINESS** – No old business.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

- **A. Insurance Renewal:** The 2022 MCIT Insurance Renewal in the amount of \$21,488 was approved on a motion by Tufto, seconded by Pauling.
- **B. Revised policy approval:** The revised 'Loan Period, Fines & Fees Policy' was approved on a motion by Schmalz, seconded by Bjur.
- C. Recommendation for award of WAN services contact: There were two responses to the posted RFP for WAN services, Arvig (our current provider) and SDN Communications. Both responses were scored using the scoring matrix outlined in the RFP. The recommendation from True North Consulting Group, based on the evaluation point summary, is that PLS enter into an agreement with Arvig for WAN/Internet services. Following discussion, approval to enter into a contract with Arvig was given on a motion by Pauling, seconded by Schmalz.
- **D. 2022 Pay Equity Report:** Ortega has begun work on the state required pay equity report due on January 31, 2022. This report is completed every three years. Approval for Ortega to complete and submit the pay equity report on behalf of Pioneerland was given on a motion by Rudningen, seconded by Bredeson.

### **DIRECTORS REPORT**

- **A. 2022 Committee Preference forms:** Ortega requests that board members complete the committee preference forms and return to her by early February. Committee appointments will be made at the February Executive/Finance meeting. If you do not have a committee preference you will be assigned where needed.
- **B. Negotiations:** The first meeting with the head librarian's union and negotiations committee is scheduled for Monday, January 24<sup>th</sup>.

## **OTHER**

**A.** The next board meeting is scheduled for April 21, 2022 @ 7:00 p.m. Executive/Finance meetings: February 17, March 17 at 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 7:55 p.m.

Recording secretary, Laurie Ortega