PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM EXECUTIVE/FINANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES Thursday, December 17, 2020, Via Zoom due to COVID-19

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Chair B. Olson.

Committee members present (attending remotely): Abigail Duly, Dennis Ulrich, Steve Ahmann, Brent Olson, John Maatz, Todd Hay and Ron Antony. Admin Staff on site: Laurie Ortega, Director. Guest: Deb Lanthier, head librarian Madison/Canby/Dawson. Absent: Joe Tacheny, Ron Shimanski, and Doug Erickson.

Roll call was taken and a quorum was present. All votes were taken by roll call.

The agenda was approved on a motion by Maatz, seconded by Duly.

Minutes of the November 19, 2020 Executive/Finance Committee were approved on a motion by Hay, seconded by Ulrich.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance Committee:

- **A.** The November 2020 Financial Report was approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Duly.
- B. Bills and Check Registers were approved on a motion by Ulrich, seconded by Hay.

Personnel Committee:

• **New Hires:** The following new hires were approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Ahmann:

Dayton Lien, Library Asst. III, Grove City Megan Lipetzky, Library Asst. II, Montevideo/Granite Falls/Clara City Jessica Dybsetter, Library Asst. II, Canby Eleanor Priutt, Library Asst. II, Bird Island Laura Underland, Library Asst. II, Atwater

OLD BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS:

A. FFCRA Expiration December 31, 2020: The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requiring employers to provide employees with paid sick leave and expanded medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19 is set to expire on December 31, 2020. On a motion by Ulrich, seconded by Duly, committee approves a 90 day extension to the FFCRA. All of the criteria and provisions remain the same with the exception of the expiration extension to March 31, 2021. This 90 day extension will be superseded by any renewal, extension, or revision put in place at the federal level.

DIRECTOR'S UPDATE:

A. Director recognizes and thanks departing board members Abigail Duly, Steve Ahman, Todd Hay and Amy Wilde for their years of service and support. Their dedication to providing quality library service is greatly appreciated!

OTHER: Next board meeting scheduled for January 21, 2020 @ 7:00 p.m. (Finance Committee meet at 6:30 TBD) Executive/Finance Meetings: February 18 @ 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 6:33 p.m. Recording Secretary – Laurie Ortega