PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD MEETING MINUTES January 19, 2012, 7:00 p.m. Willmar Public Library Multi-Purpose Room

Prior to calling the meeting to order, 10- and 20-year employees, retired employees and retiring board members were recognized and given service awards.

The meeting was then called to order at 7:07 p.m. by Chair Amy Wilde. Roll call was taken and new board members were introduced. A quorum was announced.

New board members: Brad Johnson, Benson; Joe Fox, Swift County Commissioner; Bob Fox, Renville County (not in attendance).

Guests: Vicki Grimli - Ortonville, Graceville, and Kerkhoven head librarian; Sheila Bosch - New London, Spicer head librarian; Jackee Fountain – Glencoe, Brownton head librarian.

The agenda was approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Vacek.

The October 20, 2011 Board Minutes were approved on a motion by Lopez, seconded by Heimerl.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

NOMINATING COMMITTEE: (Heimerl, deCathelineau, Vacek)

Election of 2012 Board Officers

Motion by Heimerl, seconded by Herzer, to approve the following Board Officers as nominated. Motion carries.

Board Chair: Amy Wilde; Vice Chair: Ron Antony; Secretary: Barbara Hoyhtya;

Treasurer: Bev Wangerin; Finance Chair: Denis Anderson.

Brad Johnson was nominated and accepted a position on the **Finance Committee**. Finance Committee members are: Amy Wilde, Board Chair; Bev Wangerin, Treasurer; Denis Anderson, Finance Chair; Harlan Madsen; Brad Johnson; Graylen Carlson; Brent Olson, Jeff Lopez, Ron Antony.

FINANCE COMMITTEE: (Anderson)

December 2011 Financial Report – Motion to accept by Anderson, second by Lopez. Motion carries.

Approval of bills and check registers – Motion to accept by Anderson, second by Heimerl. Motion carries.

2012 Budget – Motion to approve the 2012 budget by Anderson, second by Johnson. Motion carries.

Library Size Criteria: – Motion by Anderson, second by Antony to leave the Library Size Criteria formula the same as in 2011. Motion carries.

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE: Pam Kyllingstad

New Hires: Motion by Anton, second by Benoit to approve the following new hires:

Amy Anderson, Assistant I Ortonville; Vickie Gulley, Assistant I Ortonville; Sherry Peterson, Assistant II Benson; Katrina Ebert, Assistant II Benson; Kristi Wetzel, Assistant II Benson.

AD HOC - ADMINISTRATIVE STRUCTURE: Amy Wilde

Six-month contract extension for interim Executive Director – Motion by Lopez to accept the six-month contract extension between Mark Ranum and Pioneerland Library System as presented, second by Heimerl. Motion carries.

Direct Personnel Committee to upgrade job descriptions – On a motion by Olson, second by Antony, the Personnel Committee was directed to rewrite the job descriptions for Executive Director and Assistant Director. Motion carries.

Title/rating change for Assistant Director – Information only – no action taken. This will be part of the process of rewriting the position descriptions.

OLD BUSINESS: None.

NEW BUSINESS:

2012 Committee appointments – Ortega requested that forms for board members' requests for committee appointments be returned to her. Committee appointments will be ratified at the February 16th Executive/Finance meeting.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT:

State Auditors Committee Meeting - Ranum presented an update on the State Auditors Committee meeting that he and Wilde attended in December. He and Wilde spoke to several committees and explained how libraries are funded. He noted that many of the auditors were unaware of the process.

IT Infrastructure Update – In light of recent research comparing outsourcing our web hosting and e-mail services and doing it internally, it has been determined that internal is less expensive than contracting with an outside vendors. PLS IT will move forward with upgrading our servers for e-mail and web hosting, including wiring and fiber.

OTHER:

Future Meeting Dates -

Next Full Board meeting is scheduled for April 19, 2012 The Executive/Finance Committee will meet on February 16, 2012. Other Committee meetings to be announced.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:08 p.m.

Recording secretary, Kathy Baumgartner