PIONEERLAND LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 18, 2018, 7:00 p.m., Willmar Public Library Multi-Purpose Room

The January 18, 2018 meeting of the Pioneerland Library System Board was called to order by Chair Antony at 7:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

Guests present: Elizabeth Cronk, Meeker County Head Librarian; Larissa Christensen, Head Librarian Clara City/Granite Falls/Milan/Montevideo.

The agenda was approved on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Asmus after two items were added to the agenda.

Minutes of the October 19, 2017 Board meeting were approved on a motion by Hay, seconded by Kallestad.

Minutes of the December 21, 2017 Exec/Finance Meeting were approved on a motion by Hay, seconded by Kallestad.

COMMITTEE REPORTS NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The Nominating Committee proposed the following slate of officers for 2018:

Board Chair: Mike Housman (Meeker County) Vice Chair: Amy Wilde (City of Litchfield) Secretary: Cathy Baumgartner (City of Olivia) Treasurer: Ron Shimanski (McLeod County)

Finance Chair: Dennis Ulrich (City of Renville)

A call was made for additional nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. The slate of nominees was approved on a motion by Shimanski, seconded by Baumgartner.

The six nominees to the Finance Committee, in addition to the elected board chair, finance chair, and treasurer include:

Abigail Duly (Kandiyohi County) Brad Johnson (City of Benson) John Maatz (Lac qui Parle County) Todd Hay (Chippewa County) Roger Sandberg (Big Stone County) Ron Antony (Yellow Medicine County)

A call was made for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Nominations were closed on a motion by Shimanski, seconded by Ulrich. The proposed Finance Committee was approved on a motion by Erickson, seconded by Shimanski. Oaths of Office sheets were distributed for board trustees and officers to sign and return.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

The December 2017 financial report (preliminary) was approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Shimanski.

Bills and check registers were approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Fagnano. **Final 2018 Budget:** Following discussion, the final 2018 budget was approved on a motion by Antony, seconded by Ahmann.

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

New hires: The following new hires were approved on a recommendation by Johnson, seconded by Hay:

- Danielle Miller, Library Asst. I, Montevideo
- Ashley Bauman, Library Asst. I, Montevideo

OLD BUSINESS

No old business.

NEW BUSINESS

2018/2019 Union Agreement: Antony outlined the proposed changes in the 2018/2019 Union Contract. Following discussion the 2018/2019 union contract was approved as presented on a motion by Antony, seconded by Ulrich.

Non-bargaining staff: Motion by Ulrich, seconded by Asmus to approve the changes presented for non-bargaining staff. Motion carried.

MCIT Quote for Insurance: Antony updated the board on the process for obtaining an insurance quote (Workers Comp, Property/Casualty) through MCIT. Information only, no action needed at this time.

PLS Year in Review: Director Ortega shared a presentation highlighting activities, engagement, and outreach highlights in Pioneerland in 2017.

2018 Committee Preference Forms: Director Ortega reminded trustees to complete their committee preference forms and return them to her.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

- 1) Library Legislative Day (March 6, 2018): Director Ortega and Wilde shared information on the upcoming Library Legislative Day.
- 2) Wilde shared information on becoming a member of MLA (MN Library Association) as a trustee, and the many benefits of having a membership.

Future Board and Executive Meetings:

Next Board meeting is scheduled for April 19, 2018, @ 7:00 p.m. (Finance 6:30). Executive/Finance Meetings: February 15 & March 15 @ 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned on a motion by Ahmann, seconded by Shimanski at 8:05 p.m.

Mary Bregel, Recording Secretary